REVIEW – Torn by K.A. Robinson

torn1

Title – Torn
Author – K.A. Robinson
Series – Torn Series #1

Torn

Synopsis

For fans of Colleen Hoover and Sylvia Day, a passionately intense love story about two people with battered souls who are thrust together unexpectedly, leaving a profound impact on each other’s lives. The first book in the Torn Series.

Chloe hasn’t had the easiest childhood. With a mother who was absent most of the time, she practically had to raise herself. Determined to start a new life and leave her demons behind, she heads to West Virginia University with her best friends Amber and Logan. On the first day of classes, she spots a student who takes her breath away. Drake is a pierced, tattooed bad boy, and no matter how hard she tries to fight it, he’s all she can think about.

Drake has never cared about anyone other than himself, but when Chloe grabs the empty seat next to him in class, he is instantly drawn to her. Drake is left wondering whether this girl can take his cold, womanizing heart and alter him forever.

Developing feelings for each other was never a part of their plan, and when it happens, things do anything but fall into place. Long-hidden emotions are revealed and friendships are tested to the brink as Chloe and Drake become helplessly entwined in each other’s love.

Review

This was a fairly quick read for me, but I was quite torn how to rate it – no pun intended. I didn’t hate the book and thought it was cute at points. However, there was nothing in it that had me squealing or falling utterly in love with it either. First off, I know it is reader preference, but I really loved the love triangle angle – especially with one of them being the best friend. I also thought the story line had a lot of potential.

I adored Drake and all his bad boy-ness. I thought the author did a great job in showing his playboy rocker image contrasted with how he would be different with Chloe. I really just wish that more time was spent on the interaction or dialogue with Chloe and both the men in her life, but especially Drake. For example, she spit out everything about her mother in one sitting, but I wanted to understand more why she chose that moment that she could trust him, or what events led up to that moment of comfort and trust. There were instances where I didn’t particularly like how it would just state “the next few months went on in much the same way”. I would have liked to see how the dynamic of her relationships changed/stayed the same and how her feelings changed moment to moment in a way, rather than just through the jump in time.

Again as my own preferences, but there were times I really couldn’t stand Chloe. She was so fickle and wishy-washy. I get that it was hard and complicated to be in the position she was in, but there needed to be something more. Either she needed to make the hard, informed choice, or the author needed to verbalize the exploration of her feelings more. Then when she did something wrong (which I won’t say because of spoilers), she seemed to punish herself overly so with her thoughts. You’re in college – to think that you will never find love again just seems too exaggerated to me.

Finally, I really, really liked the mystery element with Chloe’s mother. The storyline and secrets ensured some suspense and desire to figure out what happened. However, I felt like the way her mother was persistent and then non-existent didn’t seem to mesh well. It felt forced at times to fit the love triangle aspect with her mother’s storyline. The ideas seemed to compete rather than complement each other at times – not always.

Note – this book does end on a cliffhanger! I am thrilled that I can start the second one and don’t have to wait. I can’t wait to see what the second one has in store for me!

Rating

3.5.png

Book Links

Add to Goodreads

Buy on Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AUB&N | Kobo

Don’t Miss the Other Books in the Series:

Twisted (Torn, #2)

Twisted

Read our Review HERE
Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU |  B&N | Kobo

Tainted (Torn #3)

Tainted

Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AUB&N | Kobo

Toxic: Logan’s Story (Torn #4)

Toxic

Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | B&N | Kobo

Tamed (Torn, #5)

Tamed

Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | B&N | Kobo

Adam (Torn, #5.5)

Adam

Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | B&N | Kobo

Author Links

Amazon | Goodreads | Website | Twitter | Facebook

4 thoughts on “REVIEW – Torn by K.A. Robinson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s